Saturday, April 13, 2013

Winners of National Mathematics Olympiad to be Awarded

with 0 Comment
 Mathematics is probably the only  subject that hass been learnt since the humans were not civilized. The maths then was however primitive. Today the advanced education system has allowed every student to learn solving complex mathematical problems at early age. And recognizing such talented indivuals are contests like IMO. IMO (International Mathematics Olympiad ) is a World Championship Mathematics Competition first held in Romania in 1959 with 7 countries participating. It has gradually expanded to over 100 countries from 5 continents. International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) is held annualy in a different country now.

Something similar was initiated in Nepal when, on February 23, 2013, Bloom Nepal organized a National Mathematics Olympiad. The three-hour long test of ingenuity in Maths was simultaneously held in seven major cities located throughout the nation. The competition, sponsored by Norvic Educations, DISH Home and Siddhartha Bank, was open for all the students of grade eleven and twelve from all over the country. In order to encourage large number of students to participate in the event from all across the country the registration of the students were easily conducted via SMS with the service provided by the SMS partner Sparrow SMS.

“Although large number of students participated in the competition, only 9.1% of the participants were girls and the participation was low as we moved out of valley”, said Ram K Rijal, Director of Bloom Nepal School. “Among top fifty participants only ten were from outside the valley which raises important question regarding the educational standards in the country”, Mr. Rijal added.

Winners of the National Mathematics Olympiad will be awarded on April 14, 2013 in a ceremony to be held at Bloom Nepal School building in Khadga Tole Ekantakuna. The top positions were secured by Aditya Agarwal from Rai School, Isha Upreti from Carribean College and Prabin Mandal also from Carribean College. They respectively scored 46,34 and 33 marks out of 60. The remaining of the top ten students were as follows: Sanjeev Lamichhane Pujan Pandey Lokesh Pal Pujan Thapa Pradip Niroula Tyson Pun Magar Madhav Bista The prize money for top three students are fifty thousands, thirty thousands and twenty thousands to be awarded on April 14.

Events like Nepal Maths Olympiad are doing a great job in filtering out talented students from across the country and it also encourages them to learn and excel in a competitive environment. We, Sparrow SMS, are proud to be a part of such initiatives. 


Post a Comment

Download Khalti TODAY!